There’s something special about new things. Personally, I love the feel of new books that are waiting to be opened and read. A new suitcase waiting patiently for it’s first adventure or a new journal with its white crisp pages waiting for words to be written. New things hold excitement and endless expectations. And so, with a new year come new opportunities and doors to be opened.

Looking back on 2016, I can see that God has allowed me to walk to many doors that I would never have dreamed of. From getting married to moving to Romania or travelling to  8 different countries, it has been a blessing from God.But if I ask myself the simple question, “Did you accomplish everything?”,  my honest answer would have to be “No, I’m still a work in progress.”

Although that may sound negative to many, I don’t mean it to be discouraging but simply to encourage us to keep striving to be a better you! We can always learn more from God’s Word. We can always pray more.

For 2017, I’ve decided to be a better Christian, wife, daughter and friend. In this new beginning and new year, we should take every opportunity to be better. Many times we set ourselves resolutions to “Be Healthy”, “Lose Weight”, “Be Happier”, “Enjoy life.”, all these goals focus on our natural self. Just like some of us need coffee to start our day in the natural, we need to begin our day right spiritually.

WARNING… CHANGE AHEAD!! 

It’s natural not to enjoy change, we’re creatures of habit but I can guarantee that we all can continue to grow more in our relationship with God. It may be uncomfortable or strange at first but the more we PUSH, (Pray. Until. Something. Happens.) we’ll notice how much greater the voice of God is in our lives.

Some personal goals: 

  • Dive deeper into His Word.
  • Memorise verses to be a source of strength in the hard times.
  • Pray more!
  • Spend more time with like minded people.
  • Reach out to someone.

Bible Verses: Ending 2016 on a good note!

“Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.”  2 Corinthians 5:17

This is such an encouraging verse! We look to Christ and see that He makes all things new. He has bought us with a price and so we can rejoice in His faithfulness and know that we are renewed in Him.

“It is of the Lord‘s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22-23

I’ll always remember studying this class during my time in Bible School, His mercies are new every day. We know that we are loved by a faithful God. Each and every day, I thank God for His love and mercy!

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD,thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”

Looking to the new year, we can be rest assured that God has it all in control. I don’t want to fill my year with worry but rejoice in the promises throughout His Word!

When the clock strikes midnight we’ll all say goodbye to 2016 and hello to the new year. I hope that this year will be full of joy and blessings from the Lord, for you and your family!

a19fba3d-9b36-426b-9af8-f62b6007d01f
Happy New Year from the Pattersons. 

 

Leave a Reply

