“Show me your face
Come fill this space
My world needs you right now”
– My World Needs You, Kirk Franklin.

Throughout 2016, I’ve seen many news reports, read articles and heard various opinions of what is happening in the world we live in.  From the rise of terrorist acts across my continent to the various murderous acts taken place on many of our doorsteps. When I hear a news alert on my phone I dread looking, fearful to see another horrible thing happen in the dear world we live in.

Although these are signs of the end times, of the glorious return of our wonderful Saviour Jesus, it still burdens my heart. It is time to pray. It is time to praise. It is time to share the gospel.

I will always remember a conversation my husband and I had when we were dating. We were talking about sweet memories we have growing up. One stuck with me. When he was young and growing up on the mission field, “His” World was in Romania. His Home and everything he knew was in Romania. He enjoyed when they travelled to the States to see family, but it was always extra special when family came to Romania, to see “His World” and there these two worlds can collide.

Often we try to separate “Our” World and “Their”World, but something wonderful happens when these two worlds collide, when the lost and hurting hear the precious gospel from someone who can testify to the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. Jesus came to earth to save us from the power of sin! Just like the traditional Christmas Carol, “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” reminds us, “Remember Christ our Saviour, Was born on Christmas Day…To save us all from Satan’s power when we were gone astray. O tidings of comfort and joy…”

The greatest impact we can have in our towns, cities, countries and the world is through prayer. Prayer reaches to the unreached parts of our world. Prayer prepares the way for the unknowing missionary. Prayer births burdens in barren hearts. My world needs prayer.   The Bible speaks of the promises that are fulfilled though prayer.

If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land. 2 Chronicles 7:14

I believe that there is and will continue to be a mighty move of God throughout our lands. However, we need to be people of prayer. People of worship. We need to seek His face and stand in the gap for our hurting world.

Jesus, our world needs you.

Leave a Reply

