“Paște Fericit!” otherwise known as “Happy Easter”!

May 1st, is Easter here in Bucharest. They go by the Orthodox calendar and so we are celebrating a little later than many of our friends and family. We follow the calendar here and respect the dates noted. However, this year it is a little strange. There was a month between Easter in the United Kingdom/USA from Romania. No matter the date it’s always important to remember the true reasons for celebrations. Jesus died on the cross for each of us. The grave could not hold him and He rose again triumphant on the 3rd day.

Last week, I was feeling unwell and I felt discouraged. Every day we’d pray asking God for healing and honestly, it felt like it wasn’t going to happen. I would feel like I was getting better, then suddenly feel bad again.

One evening I was laying on the couch while Daniel studied for his sermon for Sunday. I was having a ‘pity party’, just focusing on myself and my problems. But, God convicted me of that. He reminded me of all the times he had healed me before. He reminded me of the times he protected me and kept me. I felt strength come to my body and to my heart. I knew that if He done it before, He could and will do it again.

“But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8 (ESV)

Really, this post is for future me. In the times of worry and loneliness, I know He will keep me. He reminded me of Calvary. “I did it for you.” He didn’t just shed His precious blood for the times He’s already healed me. His blood still has the same power it did back then. “I did it for you back then, but I died on the cross for you to receive healing today.”

No matter the situation, I’m reminded to look at Calvary. He did it for me, and I know he can do it for you. Truly ‘I will cherish the old rugged cross!”

 

 

Leave a Reply

